New Starters  >   Safeguarding and Whistleblowing  >   Safeguarding

Safeguarding

‘Safeguarding Children and Vulnerable Adults is everyone’s business’

Safeguarding means protecting people’s health, wellbeing and human rights, and enabling them to live free from harm, abuse and neglect. The Council has a duty to ensure the safety and protection of vulnerable groups (children and/or adults) who receive a service from the Council and within the wider community. The ‘Policy and Guidelines for Safeguarding Children & Adults at Risk‘ outlines the Council’s commitments and arrangements in line with these responsibilities.

We ask our staff to be vigilant of any possible risk of harm to others and urge  any member of staff with concerns about the safety of a child and/or adult to act on those concerns.   If you have concerns please speak to:

  • your Designated Safeguarding Officer (details below)

or

  • speak to the duty social worker by contacting the contact centre on : 01545 574000

Designated Safeguarding Officers

Department Contact
Finance and Procurement

 

Heather Thornton

Finance Manager

t.  01970 633330

e.  heather.thornton2@ceredigion.gov.uk

Deputy:

Justin Davies

Chief Accountant

t.  01970 633120

e. Justin.Davies@ceredigion.gov.uk

Customer Contact Joy Lake

Customer Services Manager

t.  01970 633123

e. joy.lake@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Heather West

Carers Development Officer

t.  01970 633561

e. heather.west@ceredigion.gov.uk

Children Services Sian Howys

Quality Assurance and Independent Reviewing Service Manager

t.  01545 574212

e. sian.howys@ceredigion.gov.uk

Deputy:

Heulwen Davies

Service Manager – Children and Families

t.  01970 572681

e. heulwen.davies@ceredigion.gov.uk

Adult Services Donna Pritchard

Service Manager Learning Disabilities and Mental Health

t.  01545 574146

e. donna.pritchard@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Judi O’Rourke

Service Manager, Older People and

Physical Disabilities

t.  01545 572678

e. judi.orourke@ceredigion.gov.uk

Economy and Regeneration Llinos Thomas

Group Manager – Business Support

t.  01545 572501

e. llinos.thomas@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Russell Hughes-Pickering

Corporate Lead Officer – Economy and Regeneration

t. 01545 572121

e. Russell.HughesPickering@ceredigion.gov.uk

Lifelong Learning and Culture Kizzie Garner

Nominated and Training Officer for Child Protection

t.  01970 633601

e. kizzie.garner@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Elen James

Corporate Lead Officer – Lifelong Learning and Culture

t. 01970 633655

e. elen.james@ceredigion.gov.uk

Legal and Governance Services Elin Prysor

Corporate Lead Officer – Legal and Governance Services

t.  01545 572120

e. elin.prysor@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Alison Evans

Legal Executive – Legal and Governance Services

t.  01545 572056

e. alison.evans2@ceredigion.gov.uk

Schools Kizzie Garner

Nominated and Training Officer for Child Protection

t.  01970 633601

e. kizzie.garner@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputies:

Gillian Evans

Head of ALN Inclusion and Wellbeing

t.  01970 633605

e. gillian.evans@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Meinir Ebbsworth

Corporate Lead Officer – Schools

t.  01970 633673

e. meinir.ebbsworth@ceredigion.gov.uk

Highways and Environmental Services Llinos Thomas

Group Manager – Business Support

t.  01545 572501

e. llinos.thomas@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Russell Hughes-Pickering

Corporate Lead Officer – Economy and Regeneration

t. 01545 572121

e. Russell.HughesPickering@ceredigion.gov.uk

Policy and Performance Huw Evans

Business Support Manager

t.  01545 572102

e. huw.evans@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Alun Williams

Corporate Lead Officer – Policy &

Performance

t.  01545 574115

e. alun.williams2@ceredigion.gov.uk

Democratic Services Lowri Edwards

Corporate Lead Officer – Democratic Services

t.  01545 572005

e. lowri.edwards@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Keith Dale – Office Manager

t.  01545 572043

e. keith.dale@ceredigion.gov.uk

People and Organisation Geraint Edwards

Principal Human Resources Officer

t.  01545 572019

e. geraint.edwards@ceredigion.gov.uk

 

Deputy:

Nia Roberts

Principal Human Resources Officer

t.  01970 633684

e. nia.roberts@ceredigion.gov.uk

© Ceredigion County Council 2020